Sitter Profile Book this sitter

First Name Ana Lucia Gender Female Age 31
loading map...

Education Information

Current Status: I am currently not a student

High School

  • Holy Names Academy
    Seattle, WA
    Graduated 2006

Undergraduate College

  • Oberlin College
    Oberlin, OH
    Major World Religions
    Minor Gender and Feminist Studies
    Graduated 2011

Graduate College

  • Loyola Marymount University
    Los Angeles, CA
    Degree or Major Special Education
    Graduated 2013

Written Question

Please provide a memorable experience working with children. When I taught in Los Angeles, one of my students had endured a traumatic brain injury as an infant. This severely impacted her memory and executive functioning skills. As a seventh grader, this was increasingly frustrating for her as she began to have a greater awareness of these challenges. One day, we were working on creating a memory aid for her to remember her friends names and her school schedule. Often, when we would work on activities like this, she expressed feelings of insecurity that she needed this kind of help and her peers did not. We had a lot of conversations about her disability and about the diverse needs of different students. On this day though, as we were working on this project, she expressed excitement and relief that there was a tool of support out there to help her with something that she really wanted to be successful at. This story shows what my goals are for all the youth I work with - that they may discover their strengths, understand their unique challenges and get the support and tools they need to independently reach their goals.

What are your short to long term career goals? I was most recently working as a Senior Education Specialist case manager in Seattle providing education case management to youth in foster care in an alternative high school setting. I plan to continue in this field and return to school for a Master's in Social Work to eventually get my license and provide individual and group counseling.

Please tells us more about yourself. In addition to my career in social work and education, I am dedicated to building my skills as a dancer with a focus on funk and house styles. I take dance class multiple times per week and love to watch dance battles and competitions.

Child Care Experience

Experience Sitting for:
  • Multiple Children
  • Special Needs Children
Related Experience:
  • Teaching
  • Tutoring
  • Coaching
  • Special Needs
  • Psychology
Age Ranges:
  • Infant experience (0-6 months)
  • Baby experience (6-18 months)
  • Toddler experience (18-36 months)
  • Pre-school (3-5 years)
  • School age (5-10 years)
  • Pre-teen (10+ years)

Activities / Languages / Allergies

Activities Participated In:
  • Dance
Do you play sports?
  • Soccer
  • Basketball
  • Dance
Is English your primary language?
  • Yes
Are you fluent in other languages besides English?
  • Spanish
Are you allergic to or uncomfortable around domestic pets (Dogs, cats, hamsters, birds etc)?
  • No
Do you have any allergies or medical conditions that we should be aware of?
  • No

Additional Information

Mobility

  • Driver's license
  • Has a car (No)
  • Comfortable driving kids (Yes, I have experience driving children)

Travel

  • Has a valid passport
  • Can travel internationally
  • Has traveled with families before
  • Would be interested in short-term travel opportunities with families

Housework

Would be comfortable doing the following:

  • Cooking
  • Dishes
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Tidying